top of page
  • Writer's pictureChalkboard

11 Independent Artists To Buy From This Christmas

A selection of artists and small businesses to support this holiday season


It's finally time for me to let the Christmas damn burst. That's right. I'm buying mince pies, guzzling mulled wine and generally engaging in all forms of yuletide glee. It's been a weird year so I don't care if it's too early. We all need this!


Nothing says Christmas to me like a thoughtful, personal gift. It doesn’t have to be flashy, just something that shows how well you know your loved one. And it’s even better when you know that money is going to artists and small businesses that need your support more than ever. Here’s a curated list of bonafide brilliant people who create bonafide brilliant gifts.



 


We’ve featured the pithy drawings by the multi-talented Victoria Llewellyn before, so we were absolutely thrilled when we saw she’s set up Christmas cards on Etsy! Expect brussel sprout jokes akimbo. I’ve ordered mine and am pretty much standing at the door awaiting their imminent arrival!


More lovely cards to warm your cockles. This time from the extremely talented Kate Stokes. Part of Riddlestick theatre and comedy duo Stokes and Summers, she also makes these smashing cards based on classic films. No you’re crying at Judy Garland singing...





Peter is not only a sensational actor (star of Waitress the musical no less) but a sensational artist too. He’s created some beautiful, hand-drawn works around famous theatres. They are so detailed and done with such care, a perfect piece for the theatre buff in your life.






Lydia is an accomplished Art Director / Production Designer with a knack for stunning portraits. She’s taking commissions for Christmas time, so if you ever wanted your pooch immortalised now is the time!






Wheeler is a designer and art director who makes quirky, perfectly whacky gifts that really sum up this year. My personal fave is the e by gum tote, which I think might just be perfect for my dad (don’t read this Christopher)





This is a gorgeous little artist collective in California, so yes shipping might be a little more than usual. But I couldn't resist adding this to the list. I recently treated myself to a print and it’s so beautiful it makes me smile every time I see it. Truly original and heartfelt gifts for your favourite humans. Rugs, prints, notebooks, calendars. They are all blooming marvellous.






The wonderful Camille is a stunning performer. I’ve seen her stuff and trust it will blow your socks off. But what’s equally impressive is her fashion side hustle. Everything is upcycled and sustainable. Did we mention they are jaw-droppingly beautiful too? I need a Kimono STAT.






So this one’s a bit biased. But my Mum is really quite the potter. She makes lovely mugs, bowls and little trinkets for the green-fingered or coffee enthusiast alike. And I have to include her in this to get extra brownie points!






Another artist we’ve featured on the blog before. Jenny makes vivid and fluid works that brighten up any space. Completely individual gifts for a friend, or a treat for your workspace. Very tempting indeed...






Beautiful, handcrafted and reusable masks. Made in the UK by workers who are actually paid a living wage, whose work has been impacted by the coronavirus. 25% of all profits given to charities helping those impacted by the coronavirus crisis. Designed for reuse, hand-washable at up to 30°C and compatible with a range of common filters. You can’t go wrong with these beauties.





My Buhund obsession has peaked, as I plan to welcome a wee one into my home next year (I'm sweating with excitement as I write that). Hence why these cookie-cutter have to make the list. If you've got a baker in your life, why not treat them to a personalised cutter for their cookie creations! All cutters are 3D printed from food-safe PETG. All cutters are completely custom we would be happy to discuss any specific requirements. So use your imagination. I don't I'll just have the Buhund, please.




 

Until next time - shop small gang!



bottom of page